Thursday 14th April at 5 p.m.: great success for the Award Ceremony of the “4th European competition for a bobbin lace – 2011.

As well as many people, a number of authorities were present at the event: the Prefect of Como, the Colonel Commandant of the Military District of Como, the Marshal of Carabinieri, the Vice director of the seat of Como of the bank BCC – Cantù, the Representatives of Confartigianato Como, the Municipality of Como and the District Penitentiary “Il Bassone”.
The President of Associazione per il Museo della Seta di Como Giovanni Orsenigo and the International Jury of experts proclaimed the winners and handed over the awards.
The Jury met on 25th March in order to assess the participating works that are now displayed at the Museum and show the high execution level that bobbin lace makers hand down from generation to generation.
1st Prize – Traditional Section: Work no. 28
Title: NUBI E STELLE 0 - Author: Allieve Merlettaie ENAIP, Cantù (CO) - Italy
2nd Prize - Traditional Section: Work no. 06
Title: V1557AFM1766 – Author: Scuola dei Corsi Merletti, Gorizia - Italy
3rd Prize - Traditional Section: Work no. 07
Title: INTIMITA’ 1940 – Author: Ass. “La Crisalide”, Macherio (MB) - Italy
1st Prize – Modern Section: Work no. 02
Title: AUTUMN 000000 – Author: Bronislava Bacilkova, Prague - Czech Republic
2nd Prize - Modern Section: Work no. 17
Title: RIFIORITURA 1 – Author: Scuola di tombolo di Lurago d’Erba, Lurago d’Erba (CO) - Italy
3rd Prize – Modern Section: Work no. 11
Title: NVL46ZNG2862 – Author: Rita Drusin, Udine – Italy
Both participating and out-of-competition works will be on diplay until 29th April along with the historical part of the exhibition with the laces of Schools, Associations and Groups of Lombardy.
Shortly on the Museum website, the publication of a new section dedicated to edition 2011 of the Competition.
The exposition has received contributions from Cassa Rurale ed Artigiana di Cantù and is patronised by the European Parliament, the Region of Lombardy, the Province of Como, the Municipalities of Como, Cadorago, Cantù, Casnate con Bernate, Cucciago, Guanzate, Lurago d’Erba, Mariano Comense, Novedrate and olgiate Comasco, the Chamber of Commerce of Como and Confartigianato Imprese Como.

Download Attachment